Hanging Out, Dating, Kissing, Thinking

What are these Indonesian guys thinking?


Things become even more complicated when you actually like someone. Jakarta is not the kind of place you casually bump into people you know. Schedules are tight, everyone is busy, the city will not stop for one person. So 'dates' entail planning in minute detail. Or even no planning at all.


Take this guy, named him "John Doe" for example. The situation is disturbing. I like him. I think he likes me. We have fun, he practises good personal hygiene, he's intelligent, interesting, and funny.


But do I ever see the damned guy? We have a virtual (non) relationship via text-messaging. I have been in a (non) relationship with John Doe for only a month. Hardly enough time to start stamping your feet and whining 'what's going on?'. But I literally don't know what to think. Do I see him so rarely because he spends all his spare time screwing his ex? Is it any of my business? Nope.


Why all the text messages? Is this the manner nowadays? Do people still sit having coffee together? Do the manual things.


I have an intuitive feeling that I am somehow not 'ideal girlfriend' material, but then I guess this leads to the real question, what do I expect from him?


Well, good point. I don't know. What do I expect? More hanging out, less dating. Dating has connotations of cafes, bars and expensive drinks and I'm too damned poor for dating. Hanging out suggests more friendship, more trust, more talking. I guess, really, when it comes down to it, I expect to know what's going on, instead of being in this bizarre paralysis of unknowing, unsure if you're being taken for a ride, gently dumped, or just... not even thought about.


Why have I become so ridiculously neurotic? I found myself reading crap for the neurotic female mind, such as the dating bible 'He's just not that into you', and scouring its pages for tell-tale signs of impending (non)relationship ending.


Are you neurotic? Tick.
Are you depressed? Not really,
Does he let you down? Well, he doesn't call when he says he's going to...
Does he call at all? Nope, more text messages.
Why not? Because he's busy.


No one is that busy! He's just not that into you! You are a LOSER! Get back in the dating pool!


Great.


I think I need to get out more.
Or oh, not to be here.
Oh, to be in fatherland.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Nyaman Villa: The Comfortable One

Nyaman. Itu Saja. Bukan Apa-Apa.

I’M GETTING HITCHED: HEN PARTY AT THE MALL!!!!